November 5, 2013

’Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus,

Just to take Him at His Word;

Just to rest upon His promise,

And to know, “Thus saith the Lord!”


Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him!

How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er;

Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus!

Oh, for grace to trust Him more!

 –

Oh, how sweet to trust in Jesus,

Just to trust His cleansing blood;

And in simple faith to plunge me

’Neath the healing, cleansing flood!

Yes, ’tis sweet to trust in Jesus,

Just from sin and self to cease;

Just from Jesus simply taking

Life and rest, and joy and peace.

I’m so glad I learned to trust Thee,

Precious Jesus, Savior, Friend;

And I know that Thou art with me,

Wilt be with me to the end.

There have been many, many times throughout the past ten years or so that I have had to lay my life upon the altar and completely let go.  And almost every time I did that, it meant something different.  It meant something new.  What was a sacrifice for me in high school is not necessarily a sacrifice for me today.  The definition of “completely letting go” changes and grows.

As I look towards my next steps in life, I realize that my future is going to take more trust than my past has.  During my freshman year at Emmanuel College God asked me, again, to trust Him with my present and said He would reveal my future when it was time.  What He didn’t mention was that His seemingly small provision during that time of my life was preparing me to trust Him with the larger provision needed for the next part of my life.

Allow me to explain.  I feel like God has shown me that He is going to guide my life one step at a time.  While I was in high school He told me to attend Emmanuel College.  I didn’t know a soul here but I let go and, once again, gave my life to Him and I’m glad I did!  This past Spring He opened up doors for me to serve in Nashville, TN with Next Level Discipleship as a leader beginning in January.  If you want to know more about what that means, just email me and I’ll be happy to tell you about it!  It’s pretty cool!

 NLD at Bob's Grille

See, the thing is, this organization is still in its birthing stages.  January 20th, 2014 will be the beginning of the first full-time semester of NLD.  That means they have limited funding and for now they can’t afford to pay me.  And you know, in all honesty I’m fine with that.  I’m not in this thing for the money.  We’ve had a joke in the School of Christian Ministry here at Emmanuel that says if you want to make any money you should find another major.

Even so, I want to be upset about it.  And I have been a little bit, truth be told.  Not so much upset at my supervisors at NLD as much as I’ve been frustrated with God for sending me somewhere that I couldn’t earn money to pay off my student loans and my bills.

But, God is a good God and whenever I begin to doubt, He comforts.  As of right now I’m raising support so that I can go where God sends and not stress about my financial obligations.  And so far, He has been faithful.  I still need help; I’m not out of the woods yet.  But He has been with me the whole way and has already supplied a portion of my need.

More than anything though, He has rested upon my heart and reminded me that if I give up my life to Him, He will take care of me.  So that’s where I’m at right now.  I’m walking forward into this next step of life that God has placed before me and I trust Him to fill in the gaps.

I never intended to use this blog to ask for support, but nonetheless a need has arisen.  God has led me this far and I don’t intend on giving up anytime soon, as tempting as that has been.  If you would, please pray and ask God if He would have you support me with a one time donation or a recurring monthly donation for the next year.

I know that not all of you are able to leave your homes, careers, families, responsibilities, etc. to serve in the more difficult places.  But you can honor God and honor me by helping those of us who have been blessed with the chance to do things like this.  Thank you for your prayers and love.  Cliché as it may be, I surely would not be here without them.

I am still working on setting up a way to send your donations for me to the Tennessee Valley Conference of the IPHC so that it is tax-deductible.  That should be up within a week or two and I will post very soon with more info on that.  I wanted to go ahead and post this now though as a heads up.  If you don’t want to wait, please email me at watertrotter@hotmail.com or you can send your donations through PayPal.  Either way, I will have more solid information for you soon!  Thank you so much!

Because of Him,

Brent Hemphill

P.S.

If you’re just now joining my journey then please know that I will not be on Facebook during my time of consecration so any messages or requests you may have sent will not be responded to for quite some time.  It’s not personal, it’s Jesus.

You can purchase Nazirite DNA here: https://store.ihopkc.org/nazirite-dna-book/dp/2188.

You can also get the free audiobook here: http://www.thecall.com/Groups/1000080325/TheCall/Free/Free.aspx

