July 3, 2013

A friend of mine recently read my December 2012 post and inquired about doing such a vow herself.  I want to start by addressing that here, where everyone can easily read.  If you have ever considered doing this yourself then this is for you.

Yes, I believe that anyone can do this.  But, I would highly encourage you not to simply do what I’m doing because you are passionate about your relationship with God and want to pursue Him deeper.  If that is really true, He already knows it.  You don’t have to prove anything. 

I would instead encourage you to seek the voice of the Lord concerning this.  Duh.

First, is God telling you to be a Nazirite?  Has He put an irresistible burning on your heart for it?  That Nazirite fire that you can’t get away from?

Second, assuming He has raised you up to live out the role of a Nazirite described in Numbers 6 and referenced in Amos 2, what has He asked you specifically to give up?  What is He requiring of you?  I can promise it’s going to be different than my list.  Shorter… longer, doesn’t matter.  It has to be personal between you and Him.  Obedience is key here, not bigger and better for more brownie points.

 Also, how long does God want you to fast?  Typically, if a Nazirite wasn’t called to be a lifetime Nazirite like Samuel or John the Baptizer, then he would fast for thirty to sixty days.  I’m fasting for two years because that is what God clearly spoke to me.

Image 

I am certainly here to encourage and help guide those who want it, but I cannot tell you that you should do this, specifically how to do this, or how long to do this.  Read Numbers 6, read Nazirite DNA by Lou Engle, and pray.  Then pray.  And when you finish praying, pray.  And after that, pray.  

 

Seek, listen, love, obey.  

 

And whatever you do, do NOT allow condemnation to have any place.  If you struggle with condemnation and failure, then you need to postpone any vows until you have learned to humble yourself and live a life in the constant forgiveness of God.  We’re not continuing to sin so that grace may abound, (Romans 6:1-2) we’re simply realizing that our role in relation to Him is to receive His love and forgiveness without having to do anything to earn it. 

He died for you.  Earn that, I dare you.  Well, go ahead. 

My point is this:  You will fail.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve already failed.  Seriously, it’s ridiculous.  But that’s what we do.  It’s not ok.  I don’t want to fail.  But the only thing that is worse than sin is crawling into that cesspool of condemnation and self-deprecation.

He loves you, no matter what.  Know it… or don’t.  But if you don’t accept that in it’s fullness, in humility with no effort on your part, then you will never be free.  Welcome to a life of constant tension and pain. 

Below is a video of Lou Engle preaching at Christ For The Nations Institute here in Dallas, Texas.  He is speaking about being a Nazirite and living a lifestyle of fasting and prayer.  As I said in one of my earlier posts, I struggle with staying focused on what my purpose is during this time.  After watching this God burned a fresh fire in me for the call of the Nazirite!  Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-t4R8Ufx_U

 

 

 

Because of Him,

Brent Hemphill

 

P.S.

If you’re just now joining my journey then please know that I will not be on Facebook during my time of consecration so any messages or requests you may have sent will not be responded to for quite some time.  It’s not personal, it’s Jesus.

 

 

You can purchase Nazirite DNA here: https://store.ihopkc.org/nazirite-dna-book/dp/2188.  

You can also get the free audiobook here: http://www.thecall.com/Groups/1000080325/TheCall/Free/Free.aspx

