I know that all of you know what I mean when I talk about a “What now?” moment.  You know, that moment when everything’s going as planned and things couldn’t get better and (BAM!) something happens and suddenly you have no idea what to do or where to go to fix it.  If you’re anything like me, you like to know where you’re going and what’s expected of you when you get there.  Yet, no matter how much we prep and plan, sometimes things just don’t go quite like you planned and the phrase, “What now?” comes to mind.

I tell you, pride is a sickness for which there is no cure that comes without a painful price.  Many a time I have let pride subtly grow inside me without my knowledge and when I finally discover it’s existence, it’s disgusting, parasitic existence, it’s often too late to fix without going through a painful process known as humbling yourself.

I say this because the only time when we really have those “What now?” moments, and sometimes seasons, is when we think we’ve got it all together and we know what’s going on.  I like to think of it as God’s way of saying, “Who’s in control again?”  There is the fleshly part of me that loves to be informed about what’s up and for everything to be out in the open, maybe it’s a security thing, maybe not. But there is also the part of me that doesn’t want to know anything because when we know what’s going on then we trust in ourselves, which is pride.  When we feel like we are in the dark we have no choice but to sit back and trust God.

Imagine with me this: you are driving down a dark road.  It’s a South Georgia country road so there are no lights except those that are on your car.  All of a sudden your lights go out and you can’t see ANYTHING!  Would you keep going or would you stop the car immediately to prevent crashing?  Of course you would stop.  The same can be said for our road of life.  Many times because we can see what’s in front of us we keep going out of self-trust, or pride.  But when God turns out your lights you are forced to stop what you are doing and wait for help.  I think many times God just wants us to sit and wait for Him to show us the way, not to our desires but to Him and His will.

We’ve all heard the saying, “It’s always darkest before the dawn!”  Well, I think it’s time the dawn gets a watch, because no matter how certain we are that the dawn is coming it doesn’t make the night much brighter.  Therefore, we must sit and wait to be shown the way.  We must be still, and know that He is God.

So if you don’t know where to go, try sitting, listening, and seeking His will first.  He will be faithful to show you His will if you are willing to obey it.  If you are not willing to obey it then what purpose would be served by Him revealing Himself to you?  Once you humble yourself and trust in Him completely, the dawn will break and we must go where we are shown, not in our own strength and knowledge, but trusting in Him alone.

